I have a question for other writers…

Posted: January 9, 2015 in Free Writing

Do you ever have those sudden burst of inspiration that you have to what ever you’re doing to write it down? I don’t really know how to describe it other than a burst of inspiration. They kind of sneak up on you when you least expect it and it’s like, “Hold on y’all, BRB. Gotta get this before I loose it.”

This moment came for this piece when I was gluing a chipped wooden frame my dad dropped. I was lucky and had a notebook nearby to write this. Other times, I haven’t been so lucky. Sometimes I have my phone with me so I’m able to take a few notes, however I run into a problem when I look at it later and go, “What the heck was I trying to say?”

Sometimes I get it when it’s not appropriate to have my phone out; like in mass. My mind starts drifting and I think of something to write about. I pulled my phone out once to just write literally the title of a piece I thought of, but I was met with dirty looks from the elderly ladies around me and then I made really awkward eye contact with the priest as I was putting my phone away. One time, I took an envelope meant for the offering and the mini pencil they keep in the little box in the pews and started taking notes. The envelope was covered and I got a pretty good piece out of it!  Finally, I figured out “Hey, I get my best ideas in mass” so I started bringing a little notebook and pen with me. Sometimes I use it. Sometimes I don’t.

People ask me, “How do you come up with these ideas? Well, most of the time, it’s not me. I give all the credit to a higher power because their is no way I could come up with it on my own and make it sound halfway decent. It’s all in those bursts. If I don’t get them, I have to force myself to write and I end up with a really bad piece. There wouldn’t be as many posts then. Other times, I have so many “bursts” that I can’t keep up. I have had an experience where I would have another burst in the middle of writing a different one. It may sound crazy, but I think that those who write and write often know what I’m talking about.

I know a piece is really good when I can’t remember writing it. I will remember sitting down with a pen in my hand or with my computer, but the actual writing is a blur. Then I publish it and see people’s responses then think, “Wait, what did I say again?” Then I re-read what I wrote and think, “Huh, that’s not bad at all. How did I come up with that? Is that quote really mine?”

It feels awkward getting complemented on it. It’s great and I appreciate all feedback, but it’s hard to believe it’s really mine when it feels like I have a co-author who adds ideas and words that I can’t remember thinking or writing. And those bursts I was talking about, happen while I’m in prayer for a reason. There is a reason that when I don’t pray as diligently as I have in the past, I struggle to find the words to write.  I can’t write without my co-author. I just can’t, none of it is good without Him.

It doesn’t necessarily have to be about “Catholic” topics, although he certainly helps in that area. I write a lot of poetry for fun (GASP!) and short stories that are pretty secular, but without prayer and a relationship with my co-author, I don’t feel so inclined to write.

 

Leave a Reply

